Northeast Folklore volume 4: Eight Folktales From Miramichi

Publication Year:
Usage 24
Abstract Views 14
Downloads 10
Repository URL:
Ives, Edward D.; MacDonald, Wilmot; Manny, Louise
The Northeast Folklore Society, Department of English, University of Maine
Northeast Folklore; Maine Folklife Center; Miramichi; New Brunswick; Folktales; Marchen; Folklore; Music; Oral History
article description
Volume 4 of Northeast Archives marked a change in the publication. No longer was it published in four editions throughout the year with a variety of small articles, but now it was a single monograph published generally once a year. The focus of the first monograph is Wilmot MacDonald, a singer and storyteller from Miramichi, New Brunswick. Helen Creighton and Edward D. Ives had both collected from MacDonald and this publication came from their collaboration on that material.Eight Folktales from Miramichi: as Told by Wilmot MacDonaldTable of Contents:Wilmot MacDonald by Louise MannyIntroduction1) The Bull Story2) The Christmas Story3) Jack and the Beanstalk4) Three Gold Hairs from the Giant’s Back5) The Sword of Brightness6) Out-Riddling the Judge7) John the Cobbler8) The Haunted House and the Headless Ghost